US midterm elections 2018: How Indian-Americans fared in the polls

US midterm elections 2018: How Indian-Americans fared in the pollsUS midterm elections 2018: How Indian-Americans fared in the polls A voter waits for her party to cast their midterm election ballots at the Sisters of The Company of Mary in Tustin, California, US November 6, 2018. (REUTERS/Kyle Grillot)

The US midterm elections Wednesday saw the Republicans retaining their hold on the 100-member Senate, while the Democrats consolidated their position in the House of Representatives. At a time when US President Donald Trump is hardening his stance on immigration, there are 13 Indian-American candidates in the fray.

Of the 13, there were four Indian-Americans, all Democrats, seeking re-election to the House of Representatives in the US midterm elections 2018. Here’s how they performed.

-Ro Khanna defeated his opponent Republican Ron Cohen in the 17th Congressional district of California.

-Democrat Raja Krishnamoorthi won from the eight Congressional district in Illinois, after defeating Republican Jitendra Diganvker with a large margin.

-Pramila Jayapal recorded a landslide victory in the Seventh Congressional District of Washington State against Republican Craig Keller.

-Democrat Ami Bera registered a win after defeating Andrew Grant in the seventh Congressional district of California.

Follow LIVE UPDATES on the US midterm elections 2018

Apart from these four, there were nine other Indian-Americans—six Democrats, two Republicans and one Independent—who were seeking election to the House of Representatives.

-Democrat Preston Kulkarni lost to Pete Olson from the 22nd Congressional District in Texas.

-Democrat Hiral Tiperneni faced defeat from Republic party’s Debbie Lesko from the Eighth Congressional District of Arizona

-Democrat Anita Malik lost to David Schweikert from the Sixth Congressional District of Arizona

-Democrat Aftab Pureval lost a seat to the House to Steve Chabot from the First Congressional District of Ohio.

-Democratic party candidate Chintan Desai lost to incumbent Republican Rick Crawford in the Arkansas District One seat.

-Sanjay Patel lost to Bill Posey from the Eighth Congressional District of Florida.

-Republican candidate Harry Arora faced defeat from Jim Himes in the Fourth District Congressional seat of Connecticut.

-Independent candidate Shiva Ayyadurai (Massachusetts)  lost to Elizabeth Warren.

For all the latest World News, download Indian Express App