Johnson, the runner-up at Chambers Bay previous year and who missed out on a play-off at the 2010 US PGA as a result of a rules violation, went on to par the hole. “So I just tried to hit golf shots, tried to hit it on the correct side of the hole, and two-putt”. “It was there for the taking and I didn’t take it”, Lowry said.
Johnson picked up on it quickly.
Dustin Johnson has claimed his first major – but only after a farcical end to the US Open that drew criticism from Rory McIlroy and Jordan Spieth.
The 28-year Texan was playing his first major in his first year on the PGA Tour. He has too much talent, too much power. It shouldn’t take three hours to make a ruling.
Lowry, the first player since Payne Stewart at The Olympic Club in 1998 to lose a four-shot lead in the final round of the U.S. Open, lost his putting touch that had carried him to the lowest 54-hole total at Oakmont. The debate Sunday night was whether the biggest mistake belonged to USGA officials.
Lowry, who was devastated at being unable to hang on to a commanding 54-hole lead in the final round, insisted he was not affected by the drama, but sympathised with Johnson. He tapped in for par. After being informed on the 12th tee by a U.S. Golf Association official that he might be penalised after the round, Johnson ran up a three-putt bogey at the 14th but otherwise displayed nerves of steel as he negotiated the closing stretch.
Should tourist drivers have to display a “T-plate”? .
Lowry’s last day of play was in stark contrast to a near-flawless performance on Saturday, when he cruised through 32 holes in 3 under during a marathon day that sent him soaring up the leaderboard.
He later added: “This isn’t right for anyone”. But who cares? It doesn’t matter any more.
His decision would suggest the Johnson of old, a guy who didn’t keep his wits about him down the stretch.
“Walking down 18, I was like, man, I wish I could just take a picture of this because it’s like the coolest view”, Landry said.
And since the grainy video really didn’t show Johnson causing the ball to move, and since the rule on such incidents was changed this year to give more leeway to the player in such matters, what caused the USGA to change its original ruling at the time of the ball movement? So that’s what I was trying to do.
The USPGA was ridiculed by some of the leading players in the game over the incident. They wouldn’t know until after his round. But the Irishman ballooned to final-round 6-over 76. “Just focused on the drive on 12 and from there on out, that we’d deal with when we got done”.
He made the putt, and his long wait was over.
Only four players finished under-par at the US Open as Oakmount reclaimed some of its reputation for difficulty, which saw Lowry’s mistakes heavily punished.